Greek-Style Baked Vegetables

Returning from the island on Friday, I stopped to re-stock the refrigerator and planned to cook on Saturday night for myself.   Having purchased the usual favorite Mediterranean vegetables, I decided on one of the Greek-style baked vegetable dishes I like so much.  You have seen previous posts of my success with Briami, from the Greek islands.   I was also interested in a recipe from another cookbook for an Ikarian vegetable stew, so I used some of the methods of each technique.  Ingredients were very similar:

  • eggplant
  • zucchini
  • fennel bulb
  • Swiss Chard
  • potatoes
  • tomatoes
  • red and green peppers
  • red onion
  • corn
  • cannellini beans
  • and a few Chanterelles mushrooms
  • high-quality dried Greek oregano and thyme

I did a preliminary sauté first, and then baked the whole dish until tender.  Then I pan-fried Halloumi cheese slices in olive oil, and served it all with grilled Triticale bread and some Brunello di Montalcino wine.

fresh-cut vegetables after brief sauté

after baking

grilled bread rubbed with garlic

Dinner Plate

Halloumi side one

Halloumi side two

vegetables and cheese

Brunello

 

This entry was posted in Almost-Vegan, Food, Greek food, Vegetarian, Wine. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

